Windows 7 Sound no longers works on my PC?

budmonster

I was doing some things with CCleaner and then I installed some over due Windows updates, just the critical ones.

After I restarted my PC(WIndows 7) I get no sound, nada. It seems like the drivers are installed, it says they are working properly and updated. For some reason I do have to types of sound drivers installed it looks like, I don't know what they are as I'm not tech savvy.

ikt79Dn.png

Any idea what I can do? I have an Asus monitor Windows 7 Help Forums a tiny speaker built in so it's simply the HDMI cord from the monitor to my PC. Screenshots below.

fYuquxh.png

PiZh4as.png

However, when I go here it plays a sound. If I click on 1 - VE247, the 1st one(I have no idea why their are two?), right-click, select properties. When I hit "test" I heard a sound. Thats it, I dont hear and movies that play on my PC. music, no sound on YouTube, etc. Only that test sound works.
wYcabKh.png

Do you have two monitors? Those VE247's are monitors that probably have available audio outputs. If you want sound to come from the computer scroll down the lower left picture and locate the sound device with a speaker icon and make sure it is set to default (right click it and select default)

I currently have headphones enabled.
audio.PNG

As neemo's suggestion is quite likely to work, just in case, I'm posting a thread that helped another User here solve his sound problem in Win8. Take a look, as it contains detailed troubleshooting steps in case you have a hardware failure such as failed RAM memory sticks or a Hard Drive. That PC is going on 8 years old, so if you have never replaced the Hard Drive in it, it's quite likely failing, and that can cause all kinds of problems that look like software or even virus issues.:skull:
You should know that Hard Drives in modern computers (built 2009 and later) are only designed to last 3 years in desktop PCs and only 2 years in laptops!o_O