Win7 Freezes randomly

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Kris, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. gardnerman

    gardnerman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes but i must admit I don't know the spec' of the Asus board anymore.
     
  2. smallblockurs10

    smallblockurs10 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive tried the abit site but it hasent been updated, i have realtek for my sound so i went to thier site for that driver, and doing the same for some of the others
     
  3. smallblockurs10

    smallblockurs10 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes ive done this too, windows update even did it

    also im on the abit site going to the third party sites for drivers and it looks like intel hasent made a driver for my chipset for 7

    maybe a new motherboard cpu? i guess mine is kinda old now
     
    #103 smallblockurs10, Dec 22, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  4. lagbzie

    lagbzie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the status of svchost.exe when it hangs?
    Always run task manager to keep a tab on the servives you run.
    A lot of things make it freeze when running e.g ICS, firefox with flash enabled, e.t.c.
     
  5. smallblockurs10

    smallblockurs10 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i looked at event viewer and i have an error in kernal power event ID 41 Task 63
     
  6. lagbzie

    lagbzie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Press F8 while booting and run the Windows Memory Diagnostic.
    Also take it to a professional to have the motherboard blown free of dust.
     
  7. lagbzie

    lagbzie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should try updating your BIOS, get the manufacturer's details and update the BIOS settings.
     
  8. Bubbalou

    Bubbalou New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2

    Richard, I have left my computer running or maybe in sleep mode just to come back and find it saying your computer shut down improperly and at one point even stating it needed to check my harddrive. I know there was not a power problem as my system is on a UPS system and no clocks in the house were messed up. If it had been while we sleep I would have been woken up by two methods, one my BiPap breathing machine for Sleep Apnea would have stopped and the Battery backup would have woken me by beeping.

    You know, if these things continue I may consider going all the way back to XP bypassing Vista. When I got Windows 7 I thought wow, finally they got it right with the 64 bit version.
     
    #108 Bubbalou, Dec 23, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  9. Bubbalou

    Bubbalou New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Seems a number of us have experienced Windows 7 intermittantly and seamingly random freezes that have an ATI 4770 graphics chip on their video cards. It would seem since this was not a noticable problem with Xp OR Vista it must be something driver related.
    Mine has gotten better since a clean reload followed by updated ATI driver for the 4770 from the manufacturer (in my case XFX) for Windows 7 things are better but there is still an issue but it has gotten much better.
     
  10. hello2

    hello2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer is also freezing for long periods of time (around 5-8 minutes each time). It happens sporadically after unsuccessful dialing of my PPPOE network connection (if I remove the network cable for example). During this time, the hard-drive works like crazy (I can hear it, feel it, and the LED is on all the time) and the computer is completely unresponsive, but eventually it goes back to normal.

    I disabled the indexing service and the WLAN service, and I will post here if it happens again. If anyone knows the cause, please send me a PM.
     
  11. gaz

    gaz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    press ctrl+alt+del,this should take you back to login options,then just type your password and your back in
     
  12. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    I have about 20 known network fixes in the link in my tagline.
     
  13. sbattisti

    sbattisti New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    I'd like to join the party if I may. :(

    I built a new machine around Halloween with a fresh Windows 7 install. The parts are here: http://www.eggxpert.com/forums/permalink/579750/575079/ShowThread.aspx#575079

    The machine has been amazing. About a month ago, I suddenly had the mysterious problem where the system would just freeze, and I experienced a frustrating day or so where I couldn't boot at all. (Like many others, when trying to get into safe mode, I'd freeze at CLASSPNP.SYS.) Then, it magically fixed itself. I just booted it up at one point, and it worked fine. I counted my blessings and carried on. It continue to work fine for at least another month. Today I was typing an e-mail and it started slowing down, displaying the "thinking" icon even while I was just typing a message, and no other programs were running. It seemed odd, so I rebooted the machine, and . . . yep . . . back to the complete inability to log into the system. It's been several hours since then and I'm totally locked out.

    I can get into the BIOS with no problem, and the machine boots rapidly to the Windows 7 login screen. After I enter my password, it hangs forever on the "Welcome" screen with the cursor spinning. I'm not sure if it ever actually finishes, but I left it up to 30 minutes with no luck, so if it's not actually frozen, it's pretty durned close. If I go into Safe Mode, it freezes at CLASSPNP.SYS. Same thing - not sure if it would actually get past it if I left it running, say overnight.

    I've done a LOT of Googling on this issue, but there are so many posts about this out there that it's a little overwhelming. I've seen recommendation for everything from removing all USB devices, to getting new memory, to reinstalling Windows from scratch, to changing BIOS settings, to simply renaming a driver. I haven't actually DONE a whole lot yet, because frankly I'm overwhelmed at all of the options I found by Googling.

    Incidentally, prior to the recurrence of this problem, I made no notable changes to my system. It's possible that AVAST downloaded a new definitions file, but I had not applied any Windows updates recently, nor had I installed any new software.

    At this point I cannot load Windows at all. I am going to try booting from the Windows 7 CD and doing a repair, but from all of the posts I've read that seems unlikely to resolve the issue.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! ;) Thanks very much!

    Steve
     
  14. sbattisti

    sbattisti New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, so, I'm back again with a karmic update.

    I booted from the Windows 7 DVD. After the BIOS, a screen appeared and recommended that I run Startup Repair. I'd tried this earlier, and let it run for an hour, and killed it out of impatience. This time, it took about 1 minute, and rebooted the machine. I rebooted from the DVD, logged into Windows, and everything worked!

    So, I changed my BIOS settings to boot from the SSD again, and took out the DVD, and everything is working. I'm pleased that it's working, but I kinda wish I knew more about WHY it was working. I find myself somewhat unconvinced. :) But, happier than I was an hour ago.

    Curiouser and curiouser.
     
  15. Prodigyy

    Prodigyy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello there everyone! Windows 7 has been great..... BUT .... I'm having some serious freezing problems with it. I have tried just about everything!

    -Swapped out GPU's .... Nvidia GTS 250 and an ATI card... most current drivers everything... still froze.
    -Tested both of my RAM sticks (XMS2 Corsair 4g (2 2-gigs) 800 mgz.
    -COMPLETELY wiped my system which worked for about a week then the freezing began again.
    -Virus tests with the latest Kaspersky.
    -Downloaded ALL current drivers for everything!
    -Switched to a different Internet (Internet explorer and mozilla to Opera) still didnt work.
    -Ran heat tests and everything topped off around 40 C.. just fine.
    -Ran some diagnostics in the support center but it said everything was just fine.

    Heres my system Specs:

    OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
    Version 6.1.7600 Build 7600
    Other OS Description Not Available
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name LUCAS-PC
    System Manufacturer MSI
    System Model MS-7374
    System Type x64-based PC
    Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+, 2700 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. V3.3, 12/23/2008
    SMBIOS Version 2.5
    Windows Directory C:\Windows
    System Directory C:\Windows\system32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale United States
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7600.16385"
    User Name Lucas-PC\Lucas
    Time Zone Pacific Standard Time
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 2.00 GB
    Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
    Available Physical Memory 1.25 GB
    Total Virtual Memory 4.00 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 3.04 GB
    Page File Space 2.00 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys

    Only 2g of ram in there right now because I was testing faulty ram but to no success. It isn't a ram problem.

    Please Help! Thanks!

    P.S. this is Windows 7 64-bit
     
  16. rogleale

    rogleale New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Peerless,
    I have been having this problem for about a week. I went into Services and disabled the 'Windows Media Player Network Sharing' service and for the last three days - no freezes. It's worth a try.

    Roger
     
  17. raby

    raby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could finally get my Win 7 stop freezing

    I've tried a lot of things and eventually found a way to stop the freezing issue. The one to blame was Comodo Firewall 64 bits. Actually I'm not sure the program itself is faulty because I have it installed on a laptop running Win 7/64 and it's running fine. So it's most likely a configuration issue or some incompatibility with another software. I still have to pinpoint the exact cause but at last I can use my PC.:p
     
  18. Biscuit

    Biscuit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    white screen lock up .....text of 2 dump files within the last 24 hours. had new system installed for less than 2 days.

    Event #1:

    Loading Dump File [C:\Windows\Minidump\020510-45458-01.dmp]
    Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

    Symbol search path is: *** Invalid ***
    ****************************************************************************
    * Symbol loading may be unreliable without a symbol search path. *
    * Use .symfix to have the debugger choose a symbol path. *
    * After setting your symbol path, use .reload to refresh symbol locations. *
    ****************************************************************************
    Executable search path is:
    *********************************************************************
    * Symbols can not be loaded because symbol path is not initialized. *
    * *
    * The Symbol Path can be set by: *
    * using the _NT_SYMBOL_PATH environment variable. *
    * using the -y <symbol_path> argument when starting the debugger. *
    * using .sympath and .sympath+ *
    *********************************************************************
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
    Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (8 procs) Free x64
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0xfffff800`02a64000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`02ca1e50
    Debug session time: Fri Feb 5 21:49:29.628 2010 (GMT-6)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:00:18.643
    *********************************************************************
    * Symbols can not be loaded because symbol path is not initialized. *
    * *
    * The Symbol Path can be set by: *
    * using the _NT_SYMBOL_PATH environment variable. *
    * using the -y <symbol_path> argument when starting the debugger. *
    * using .sympath and .sympath+ *
    *********************************************************************
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
    Loading Kernel Symbols
    ................................................
    Loading User Symbols
    Mini Kernel Dump does not contain unloaded driver list
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

    BugCheck 124, {0, fffffa8007f3d4a8, 0, 0}

    ***** Kernel symbols are WRONG. Please fix symbols to do analysis.

    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
    *** ***
    *** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_WHEA_ERROR_RECORD_HEADER ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************
    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
    *** ***
    *** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_WHEA_ERROR_RECORD_HEADER ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************
    Unable to load image PSHED.dll, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for PSHED.dll
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for PSHED.dll

    EVENT #2:

    Loading Dump File [C:\Windows\Minidump\020610-31574-01.dmp]
    Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

    Symbol search path is: *** Invalid ***
    ****************************************************************************
    * Symbol loading may be unreliable without a symbol search path. *
    * Use .symfix to have the debugger choose a symbol path. *
    * After setting your symbol path, use .reload to refresh symbol locations. *
    ****************************************************************************
    Executable search path is:
    *********************************************************************
    * Symbols can not be loaded because symbol path is not initialized. *
    * *
    * The Symbol Path can be set by: *
    * using the _NT_SYMBOL_PATH environment variable. *
    * using the -y <symbol_path> argument when starting the debugger. *
    * using .sympath and .sympath+ *
    *********************************************************************
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
    Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (8 procs) Free x64
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0xfffff800`02a19000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`02c56e50
    Debug session time: Sat Feb 6 08:04:13.986 2010 (GMT-6)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:00:20.000
    *********************************************************************
    * Symbols can not be loaded because symbol path is not initialized. *
    * *
    * The Symbol Path can be set by: *
    * using the _NT_SYMBOL_PATH environment variable. *
    * using the -y <symbol_path> argument when starting the debugger. *
    * using .sympath and .sympath+ *
    *********************************************************************
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
    Loading Kernel Symbols
    ................................................
    Loading User Symbols
    Mini Kernel Dump does not contain unloaded driver list
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

    BugCheck 124, {0, fffffa8007ef78f8, 0, 0}

    ***** Kernel symbols are WRONG. Please fix symbols to do analysis.

    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
    *** ***
    *** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_WHEA_ERROR_RECORD_HEADER ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************
    *************************************************************************
    *** ***
    *** ***
    *** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
    *** ***
    *** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
    *** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
    *** ***
    *** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
    *** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
    *** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
    *** work. ***
    *** ***
    *** Type referenced: nt!_WHEA_ERROR_RECORD_HEADER ***
    *** ***
    *************************************************************************
    Unable to load image PSHED.dll, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for PSHED.dll
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for PSHED.dll


    THANKS.
     
  19. rogleale

    rogleale New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Partly solved again!

    No freezes for about a week - then ZAP. Freeze after freeze, about two minutes stoppage each time. Frustrated, I started trying all sorts of things, then I thought that I hadn't tried my Wacom pad. Plugged it in, and lo and behold, with the mouse pointer frozen the Wacom mouse and pen kept on working correctly.
    This would seem to indicate the freezes are being caused by something in the MS mouse driver. Any other ideas?

    Roger:eek:
     
  20. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Chck logs

    Go through your logs. The link for troubleshooting is in my tagline here. Also check the network fixes... there are a couple things that and known to cause short pauses and lags that are not needed and can be turned off.
     

Share This Page

Loading...