Windows was unable to connect to SSID

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by The Progen, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. The Progen

    The Progen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I've been using this computer to connect wirelessly to a router in another part of the house for the past few months. Then one day, I started getting this 'Windows was unable to connect to SSID' error message.

    I've tried the below :-

    1. Disabled and enabled the wireless adapter. No effect.
    2. Switched to a wireless adapters of another brand and model. Worked for a while and then the same error message popped up.
    3. Turned the router off and on. No effect.
    4. Formatted and reinstalled windows. Worked for a while and then the same error message came up.
    5. Tried looking for updated adapter drivers but there's only one driver on the manufacturer's website so that wasn't the cause.
    6. Tried the ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew. No effect.
    7. Tried the netsh commands. No effect too.
    My system had had no hardware changes at all so what could be the problem. Please help because I sure wouldn't want to spend unnecessary money buying a new router or applying for another line.

    A screen capture of my ipconfig /all results is over here.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Is your router transmitting its SSID. If not then try turning it on and you may leave it turned on - there is no particular advantage in turning it off,
     
  3. The Progen

    The Progen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the SSID is visible but the moment I try to connect, I get that 'Windows is unable to connect ....' message. Does the log above give any clues to my problem? It's been happening for the past week and is still happening even after a fresh install of Windows 7 on the same system with no hardware changes. Could it be the router blocking me?
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Your ipconfig is showing no connection and no IP address assignment for the wireless adapter. The adapter is set to use DHCP but it would seem either no DHCP request is is being made by the adapter or none is being received by the router. Assuming the router is yours can yo do a hard reset on the router and run ipconfig again to see if there is any change?
     
  5. The Progen

    The Progen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The funny thing is if I were to use a new wireless adapter that I had never installed before, it'll work for a while before I start getting this error message. I can also connect with other computers, smartphone and tablet without any problems so the router definitely is fine. The problem is somewhere with this desktop and Windows 7. Can't be hardware failure because it'll work fine at the full speed of the Internet connection just after installation before dropping out and then running into errors during subsequent reconnection attempts. All the above steps I've listed had no effect. Have never come across such a problem before and it sure is frustrating to the point where I applied for a 4G account but had to return it because my area was slightly outside coverage so the speed was very inconsistent.
     
  6. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Do you have physical access to the router?
     
  7. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Do what patcooke suggested. Do a hard reset on the router. There's probably an IP assignment issue with the router that's causing conflict between devices.
     

Share This Page

Loading...