Connection Status Utility?

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Networking' started by Rebop, Jun 21, 2016.

  1. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    362
    Rebop try this version. Hopefully it will work, if not it should pop up a exception and send me a screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just found this. Did not get an email. Will likely have to try it when I return from vacation. Will let you know Neemo. Thanks!
     
  3. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Couldn't wait :) Works perfectly. And I see the added start with boot. Great stuff.

    Thanks so much Neemo.

    ~Bob
     
  4. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    362
    forgot I added that menu item, the "Start On Boot" doesn't actually do anything yet. I will add that in though.
     
    #44 Neemobeer, Jun 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2016
  5. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    On the road and have been getting this:

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection.
    Parameter name: index
    at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException(ExceptionArgument argument, ExceptionResource resource)
    at NetStatus.FMain.GetActiveNetworkInterfaces()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1080.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    NetStatus
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Win%2010%20Software%20%26%20Utilities/NetStatus.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1038.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1081.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1078.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1038.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1038.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1064.2 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
     
  6. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    362
    Try this one.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    No issues with this build Neemo.
     
  8. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Issues again. this time usually after waking from sleep:

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at NetStatus.FMain.GetActiveNetworkInterfaces()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1080.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    NetStatus
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Win%2010%20Software%20%26%20Utilities/NetStatus.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1038.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1081.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1078.0 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1038.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1038.0 built by: NETFXREL2
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.6.1064.2 built by: NETFXREL3STAGE
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.



    ~Bob
     
  9. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    362
    Are you coming out of sleep or hibernate? You also stated most of the time, does it do it at other times or really just out of a low power state?
     
  10. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Plugged in. Full power. Not hibernating, just lid closed sleep. Wake up and throws the error once. Repeated twice now.
     
  11. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    362
    Sorry haven't had much time to look at it. I just got the error myself. It appears it might be some kind of race condition when the adapter becomes active and the timer triggers an update. I've just told it to throw out the error at this point, so it should continue to run and update on the next timer event.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Neemo. No worries. I'll give this one a try.
     
  13. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Seems to work just fine now, Neemo. Even the start-up option.

    I have a question maybe you could help answer - somewhat releated:

    I have three computers. All connect wirelessly to the same Netgear router with 5G. One connects at 300mbps, one at 450 and one at 866. Why the difference?

    I did update the Intel Wireless drivers on the slowest one with no change. Anything I am missing to bump that speed?

    If it helps, slowest is Win 7/64, next WIn7/32, fastest Win10/64. Somehow I don't think that is responsible for the different speeds.

    Appreciate thoughts.

    ~Bob
     
  14. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Found it. As usual after posting :)

    Its the limitations of the Intel Wireless adapter. Bummer. But... is what it is.

    ~Bob
     
  15. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    362
    Yeah depends on what specification a,b,g,n,ac and how many antennas your wireless nic has
     
  16. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Neemo,

    Had to restore my computer from a month old backup. Long story. Removed and retrieved the latest (July 11th) NetStatus. Appears in the tray, right click allows to exit or start with Windows, but other than that will not work at all.

    Anything I can try?

    Thanks.

    ~Bob
     
  17. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried all I could think of - reboots, redownloads, etc. Still does not work. Generates .dmp files and .log files. Would a .dmp help figure out the issue Neemo?

    Thanks.
     
  18. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    362
    Probably. Did you make sure to install .net 4.5?
     
  19. Rebop

    Rebop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Says its already installed. A bit baffled.

    Here's the dmp. Hmmm, dump failed to upload. Trying a zip.

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    362
    Yeah it just complained about a kernelbase function. I'll need to add some logging at some point.
     

Share This Page

Loading...