Windows 10 Has windows complexity expanded beyond credibilty

robint

I guess Wusers could be divided into a) naive users who need a machine to performs tasks b) curious users who want to know whats going on inside the works

If you are a) then when problems occur you ask the IT guy to fix it.

If you are b) like most of viewers here then you open Pandora's box to see a can of worms lurking

I've been living with Windows since the Ark so forgive my grumpy old man's views and concerns
Ive still got a little Acer aspire one notebook 10" screen running XP SP3. Its 15 years old still going strong, never had any issues I can remember. I use it now to run data acquisition kit. Utterly reliable and lacking in tantrums. (AFAIK the NHS is still running this OS and has resisted any change - no doubt cant afford M$ support fees.)

I have a W7 machine I keep as a spare and from what others say its an improved XP and highly popular. I have limited experience using it in anger.

Then I had to get a new machine and had to jump to W8 (very difficult to get a machine with say Linux installed by default but I didnt go down that esoteric route)
I hated W8 at first cos it defaulted into tablet mode on start up and I didnt get my normal desktop. (millions also hated it) I was advised to upgrade to W8.1 for free. This was a nightmare and took 24 hours of tortuous downloads restarts etc - I had become suicidal. But I got through that phase and after 3 months the OS settled down and I had disable many of the annoying M$ inteferences that were forced on the hapless user. So I went on for 5 years or so without too much agro and felt comfortable, or so I thought!!!!!!!!!!!!