Virus? Microsoft wont open

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by buzzthebee, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. buzzthebee

    buzzthebee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) convinced I have virus
    2) MSE shows no virus
    3) cant get programs to open (even on Microsoft site accessed from Help/Support on start menu)
    4) I click on links and nothing happens
    5) had to go to search engine and type in windows forum to get help section open
    6) i disabled my Advance System Care Pro
    7) cannot get anything to open on Microsoft site once home page opens
    8) help
    9) thank you
     
  2. buzzthebee

    buzzthebee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok. windows vista 2007
    Dell 32 bit
     
  3. buzzthebee

    buzzthebee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    home computer
    just uninstalled Advanced System Care Pro 7 (to see if that was the problem)
     
  4. BurrWalnut

    BurrWalnut Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    13
    If this happened recently and if System Restore is enabled and you can go back far enough, restore the computer to an earlier date using Safe Mode.

    Restart the computer and start tapping the F8 key, select the Safe Mode with Command Prompt option. If you are asked to select an operating system, use the arrow keys to select the correct one and press Enter. Log on as an administrator or with an account that has administrator credentials. At the command prompt, type %systemroot%\system32\rstrui.exe and then press Enter. Follow the prompts to restore the computer to an earlier date.

    After successfully restoring the system, run your ‘anti’ programs to clean up any residual ‘nasties’ in the user folder(s). When the computer is clean, create a manual system restore point and name it, say, ‘After removing a recent infection’. This new, clean restore point can be used should you have to restore again in the near future.
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi,
    try running this:
    http://www.malwarebytes.org/

    Also try running the system file checker. Find cmd prompt in start menu and right click on it. Click run as admin and type:
    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results..
     

Share This Page

Loading...